index
archive
mail
guestbook
profile
notes
rings
recommendations
designed by lex
hosted by..
everydaydiva
lissy
thintowin
my other journal

Angel Without Wings
i'm not here - this isn't happening

- last entry / next entry -

Driving - NJ - Star Wars | 05.23.02 3:57 pm

Okay, it's been a while, but I'm back.

Not too much to talk about. But I should try to catch up. Worked a lot last week. Got my first commission at Staples. One whole dollar for getting someone to buy a product replacement plan. Woohoo.

Wednesday night I had to get together the registration packets for the Thursday meeting of the Society. In order to attend the meeting on Thursday in New Jersey, I was planning on leaving at 6:00am to get there by noon. So obviously I was going to have to go to bed early. R decided he was going to go out with his friends. At about 9pm he called and asked if I would be angry if he saw Star Wars without me. I said yes, but do whatever you want. I wasn't too pleased. I got so worked up that I looked for spoilers to read the entire story. I found one and read the script. It was about 11pm when I was done, and I had just about finished the registration packets. Then at 11:20pm the phone rang. It was R. "We have an extra ticket for Star Wars. Can you get here in 40 minutes?" I struggled for a moment and realized that it was a once in a lifetime kind of thing, and I'm still young so I would live from the lack of sleep. I made the ~40 mile drive in 25 minutes. It's a miracle I didn't get pulled over. So I saw Star Wars at the 12:06am showing on Thursday, May 16th. I saw Ep. 1 on opening day, so I sort of wanted to keep up with tradition. I wasn't 100% pleased with Attack of the Clones, but it was okay. I needed a Star Wars fix. And I LOVE Natalie Portman. So I'm not disgruntled like many of the other Star Wars fans. I mean, how can you be angry when Jar-Jar Binks gets like NO screen time?

I am at war with myself about Yoda.

He ROCKED my world.

But my friend Jen said he was just WRONG.

I can see her side, but I always wondered how little slow Yoda could be a Jedi master. I thought he was perfect as a bad ass Jedi.

Anyway, I refuse to get too into reviewing the movie. It's part of history, I don't want to rip it apart. I think a new Indiana Jones movie will make up for any unhappiness I might have for my favorite movie franchises.

So anyway.

I drove down to New Jersey. Left at 7:30am on Thursday. I was a little tired buy waited until I crossed the Tappan Zee to have any caffeine. I got there almost exactly at 12:00pm. The meeting lasted until 9:30pm. I got back into my car, despite people's protests that I would fall asleep on the road. I wanted to sleep in my own bed, and I really couldn't afford a room at the hotel. I started to fall asleep, though, so I took a 30 minute nap somewhere in Connecticut, and made it home in one piece at 2:30 am. When I was on the final stretch, I got a good scare. A black Acura was in the right lane and I had my cruise control on 80, and he was going slower than me so I started to pass him. He started pulling up next to me and dropping back a little bit. He continued to do this for a minute. It pissed me off. I was thinking, "HELLO? I'm driving a 96 Ford Taurus. I'm not going to race you. You'll beat me. No contest." So I dropped back behind him, and he dropped down to 65. UGH!!! So I got back in the left lane again and put the cruise back on 80. He started doing it again! I started to get scared at this point. There were only two lanes, what was I going to do? At one point, I went up to 100 and got right in front of him, but he whipped right around me and got back in front of me. My heart was racing because another car got in between us, and I thought, what if these two people are together, and they block up the highway and stop me?? We're in the middle of nowhere here, what will I do? At this point, I was only 5 miles away from my offramp. I started to slow down, and so did they..... My heart was racing. At my offramp, I was going about 55 and had several car lengths ahead of me. I waited until the last possible second to pull off so they couldn't come with me. I saw the car directly in front of me start to swerve as I left the highway. Foiled! I cringe to think what their intentions were.

I don't know how often I will be driving down that highway at 2:30am after that run-in. Lots of strange people out in this part of the state at that time of night. R's friends were driving home from our place about a month ago and basically saw a guy kill himself. He drove by them at 100mph, went into the center median, pulled back onto the road, into the breakdown lane (still at 100) and then back into the center median where he crashed into a guardrail and flip. They stopped to help him and call 911, and the guy had pulled himself out of the car saying, "I can't see! I can't feel my legs!" There was blood everywhere. A helicopter came to lift him out. He probably died. They said he reeked of alcohol.

Oh, Nate got arrested!!! Ha! He got pulled over for speeding, and that was when he found out his license had been suspended. Got handcuffed, searched, put in the paddywagon, and hauled off to jail. What drama! He hadn't checked him mail, and didn't know he had forgotten to pay a ticket. Silly Nate. I told him he needed a personal assistant, and he said he needed a wife. Too true.

So I put up a webcam. The link is below on the menu. I've only had one viewer so far, but it was a pretty funny conversation we had. I was told to put some clothes on. :P

Okay, enough for now. I need to try to do something productive.

And make some money already!

Listening to: Music: Harry Potter soundtrack on Beethoven.com
Thinking: In My Head: Kitty just blessed me by wetting my arm with her nose
Weight: Weight: 126

- last entry / next entry -

My current state is: The current mood of angelwowings27@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

recent entries:

Bah - 138 07.19.08
Losing control - 135 07.11.06
Spa weekend - 132 07.03.06
Drinking too much - 134 06.27.06
Okay weekend - ??? 06.26.06