index
archive
mail
guestbook
profile
notes
rings
recommendations
designed by lex
hosted by..
everydaydiva
lissy
thintowin
my other journal

Angel Without Wings
i'm not here - this isn't happening

- last entry / next entry -

Stupid weekend | 08.12.02 6:48 pm

What a great weekend.

We went to Eastern Slope Inn in North Conway, NH. My parents have had a time share there for almost 20 years. R and I were given permission to use it this weekend. I have always loved going up there.

This year, of course was the exception.

Why would I bother writing about it if it wasn't?

Got into the same two rooms we have been getting for years. The air didn't work. The air has always been on when we got in. Called downstairs. "Oh, the air is hooked up to a system that automatically turns on when you check in. I just need to turn it on." I shouldn't have had to REMIND them to turn on the air. Stupid.

The beds were small. I thought there was a queen, not a double. Stupid.

(Had my first nightmare about the wedding, incidentally. I had forgotten to get a bouquet and I was stopping at craft stores looking for one. I finally stopped along the highway and picked wildflowers. I got to the wedding looking ragged. My hair had uncurled, I was sweaty, and my dress was dirty.)

In the morning, we went to take a shower. The tiles were stained. And the shower was cold. Stupid and stupid.

We went rock climbing, and of course, on the first climb, a simple 5.5, my left knee goes "POP!" and I collapse in a ball. I am embarassed to be injured on such a simple climb and complete the climb without using my left leg. Like I said, it was a simple climb.

R doesn't believe me. He thinks I am looking for attention. He instructs me to do another climb. I desperately want him to be right, that I am not hurt at all. It is a 5.8 and I get the trickiest move, and I am ALMOST THERE, and, "POP!" there it goes again. This time I drop everything and *boink* I drop on the rope, clutching my knee and screaming. And to add to my confusion, as I hold my leg by the ankle because I'm afraid to move it either way, it goes "POP!" one more time, for good luck, I suppose. "Okay, lower me, lower me, lower me!" He lowers me onto a rock and waits. "Well, come over here and help me down." He walks over and offers me his hand. "NO, come over here, I CAN'T WALK." He has to lift me off the rock. He still doesn't believe me. Stupid.

Anyway, his friends come up and stay over. I am NOT climbing the next day, obviously. I stay at the hotel. Check out is 10AM. The woman of the couple who had come to stay with us heads out around 8 with her children to bring them to Storyland. I am still asleep. She brings the key for that room to the front desk and EXPLICITLY tells them she is not checking out, that she is just returning a key.

At 9 AM I step out to stretch my leg and look for an ace bandage. Nothing is open, strangely enough, on a Sunday morning. I come back at 9:40 to find housekeeping is carrying my belongings down the hall from our room and the door is wide open. "What the hell are you doing with my bags?" "Oh, we thought you had forgotten them." "I HAVEN'T CHECKED OUT YET." I gathered up my things, as I was already packed up but waiting until the clock struck 10Am to leave, and stormed as quickly as one can with an injured knee down to the front desk.

"What is the idea of having housekeeping remove my belongings from my room before check out? Is this standard practice?"

"They called down because you were listed as a check-out in the system and there was baggage in the room. I told them you must have forgotten the bags. It was my fault."

"It sure was. I HAD NOT CHECKED OUT. YOUR PRECIOUS SYSTEM WAS WRONG. DID YOU CHECK TO SEE IF ALL THE KEYS HAD BEEN RETURNED? WHY DIDN'T YOU WAIT 20 MINUTES AND GIVE ME THE BENEFIT OF A DOUBT?"

Stupid.

I sat in the lobby for 20 minutes cross stitching and listened to this woman say on 3 more occasions, "It's listed as a check-out in the system." Like it wasn't her problem. Stupid.

Isn't it convenient how technology is to blame? It wasn't human error, obviously. Couldn't have been. No way. It couldn't have been that bumbling idiot who took the key back from my friend. No, never.

STUPID, I tell you. STUPID.

And R still doesn't believe I'm hurt. I went to the ER today. Apparently I tore some ligaments. I can't bend my knee past 90 degrees. Getting it to 90 degrees is tough, too, but doesn't hurt. Just takes some work.

Stupid.

So, my weekend sucked. It sucked stupid.

Listening to: Ray of Light, Madonna
Thinking: 2 months exactly to my wedding
Weight: 126

- last entry / next entry -

My current state is: The current mood of angelwowings27@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

recent entries:

Bah - 138 07.19.08
Losing control - 135 07.11.06
Spa weekend - 132 07.03.06
Drinking too much - 134 06.27.06
Okay weekend - ??? 06.26.06