index
archive
mail
guestbook
profile
notes
rings
recommendations
designed by lex
hosted by..
everydaydiva
lissy
thintowin
my other journal

Angel Without Wings
i'm not here - this isn't happening

- last entry / next entry -

United We Stand | 09.10.02 9:53 pm

It positively pissed me off today when somebody said to me that the first anniversary of September 11th is a bunch of sentimental bullcrap. Excuse me?

Perhaps you didn't live in New Jersey, 35 miles from New York City. Perhaps you didn't see the smoke that day. Perhaps there weren't people from your town who died. Perhaps you didn't have coworkers who had loved ones who worked in New York. Perhaps you didn't live somewhere between NYC, Washington DC, and PA. Perhaps you weren't scared shitless because as far as anyone knew there could still be more hijacked planes out there that could crash in your backyard like the one did in PA. Perhaps there weren't people from your community who volunteered their time and money to the recovery effort (and desperate search for life) at Ground Zero. Perhaps you didn't notice that there were absolutely no planes flying for days afterward when you were used to seeing 20 up above you at any given time because you were so close to Newark and all the NY airports. Perhaps you didn't live ten miles away from the Hamilton Township postal distribution center where the anthrax scares started. Perhaps that wasn't YOUR local distribution center. Perhaps you didn't receive about 2 dozen letters in little baggies from the Post Office stating that they had been irradiated.

Perhaps you were not moved by the heroic efforts made last year.

Perhaps you are not American.

Perhaps you are not human.

Just seeing the images of the towers falling again has stirred the feelings, the thoughts, the emotions. I was scared. I thought of The Stand. I thought that I might have to take sanctuary in Arizona with my family. I thought there would be more attacks. I mourned for those who died that day. I mourned for our country. I mourned for those who survived with the memories of being in NYC that day.

So don't ever tell me I'm being sentimental about September 11th. If you don't feel the same way I do, then you don't deserve to be American.


(The banner I made after September 11th, 2001 of me on top of the WTC.)

Listening to: The thumping of blood through my brain
Thinking: Don't tread on me
Weight: 125?

- last entry / next entry -

My current state is: The current mood of angelwowings27@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

recent entries:

Bah - 138 07.19.08
Losing control - 135 07.11.06
Spa weekend - 132 07.03.06
Drinking too much - 134 06.27.06
Okay weekend - ??? 06.26.06